What's worse than Beatles night on American Idol? Idol Gives Back. We get to sit through an hour of tunes like Fleetwood Mac's "Don't Stop Thinking About Tomorrow" -- sung with passionless unoriginality by Casey "Don't Call Me Buckey" James.
I don't doubt that these songs were once inspiring to many, but now, most of them have been relegated to cheesy political campaigns. Remember this one ...
Speaking of uninspired -- I miss the days when Idol mentors really mentored -- really coached -- the contestants rather than stroke their fragile egos. Cheesy line of the season: "You are that boxer. You are that fighter." Allicia Keys to Lee DeWyze
And when did Lee DeWyze become "brilliant?" Remember this?
Zac Efron -- I mean Tim Urban -- sang a song that could have been straight out of High School Musical 4. I think Zac Efron better watch his back.
Seriously, Aaron? "I Believe I Can Fly?" If you look up cliche in the dictionary, there would be a picture of Kels cheesin' holding this record. And then he butchers it. What did we, the loyal Idol viewing public, ever do to deserve this? Stay tuned for R. Kelly's next hit "I Believe I Can Lie" from his upcoming album Jailhouse Rock.
Seriously judges? "I believe you CAN fly." "This performance was like a plane taking off ..." Seriously? What are we going to do without Simon's realism and frank if not apolitical correctness? He's absolutely right -- this kid is not even radio-worthy. And we all know how little talent you have to have to be on the radio.
Seriously? OMG, ODB, ASP .... just list the whole damn alphabet. What I can't BELIEVE is how big this chick's ego must be to think she can take on not one but TWO dynamic divas in the same song. And the butterflies on the arm -- was that supposed to be an homage to my dear Mariah? How tacky. And THEN she says the meaning of the song is "why she's here." So .... being on American Idol is the equivalent of Exodus? Yeah -- I get that connection.
And is it just me or are Ellen and Kara smoking that Whitney Houston crack? They seem to be falling over each other to give the biggest compliment to the least deserving performance. Reminds me of when Whitney Houston crowned Bobby Brown "the Original King of R&B" at an awards show. It was so ridiculous, people almost missed it.
Was it a requirement this year that contestants had to know how to play an instrument? Isn't their voice their instrument? Isn't this still a singing competition?
My prediction -- it's about that time for Big Mike to go ... He doesn't have Ruben's "velvet teddybear" appeal. He's too good to get a pity vote. He doesn't have great hair or boyish good looks. And 13-year-old girls don't daydream about him. And the people who might have voted for him have stopped watching.
Crystal Bowersox takes it all -- unless she gets sick again. (Check your sugar, girl. And take your medicine.) OR cry at the end of another song... What was that about??
Oh well, amateur hour is over. Time for some serious singing. Madonna is on Glee! Woohoo! Show 'em how it's done Madge!
Easter Wednesday
The judges played Idol gods and raised Mike up from the dead tonight. But as much as I like Mike, I think keeping him around (only to be voted off next week) is a really lame attempt to save a really lame season-- that they (and the producers) created. You can't blame this on the a-aaa-ca-hol OR the voters.
In an era of tea partiers and
'you lie,' surely no one expects America to use reason or good judgement in casting its votes.
All I can say is thank God Glee is back next week so we can hear some real talent on Tuesday night.
- I'm out
In an era of tea partiers and
'you lie,' surely no one expects America to use reason or good judgement in casting its votes.
All I can say is thank God Glee is back next week so we can hear some real talent on Tuesday night.
- I'm out
Slam!
Duuh duh duh duuh duh duh... Let the boys be boys!
Whose idea was it to let the contestants "share" info about each other? Like do you think little Aaron wanted the world to know about his fascination with Yoda? Not, I think.
And isn't it a little early in the season for Beatles night? But I guess producers had to pull out the big guns to save this season. You can't really fudge Let It Be. ... unless you're Kara trying to impress Simon.
Whose idea was it to let the contestants "share" info about each other? Like do you think little Aaron wanted the world to know about his fascination with Yoda? Not, I think.
And isn't it a little early in the season for Beatles night? But I guess producers had to pull out the big guns to save this season. You can't really fudge Let It Be. ... unless you're Kara trying to impress Simon.
The Jennifer-Latoya-Fantasia curse
Remember Season 3 when it was down to 6 contestants and Ryan divided them into two groups- the top 3 and the bottom 3. Remember how 'shocked' everyone was that the best singers Latoya London, Jennifer Hudson and Fantasia B. ended up being the bottom group... They were TOO good. America likes to root for the underdog and the unexpected.
I fear (judging by the unofficial AI facebook fan page poll) that the same fate is waiting for Mike Lynche.
I fear (judging by the unofficial AI facebook fan page poll) that the same fate is waiting for Mike Lynche.
Blow my Bowersox off...
Big Mike might have some competition. Can't wait to see the real GK in concert this summer!
- I'm out
- I'm out
Dig 'em Good
OK, Got my cereal. I'm back ... and maybe it's the sugary goodness of the Smacks but I'm not hating DiDi's performance of "What Becomes of the Broken Hearted." The judges hated it, but then they didn't have any Honey Smacks.
What becomes of the broken hearted? Apparently, you go on Idol and have Ryan embarrass you in front of a couple million people.
OK, as someone who was fortunate enough to see Anita Baker perform that song live, I am insulted (on behalf of Anita) by Tim Urban's half-assed and half-hearted, would-make-Barry-Manilow-mad-attempt to sing "Sweet Love." Shame on him. Shame.
Didn't I say no songs by people involved in domestic abuse scandals. Andrew makes Chris Brown's "Forever" sound like a Doublemint gum commercial. Actually there are far better Doublemint gum commercials....
Oh lord, this little girl is gonna try to sing Aretha. I gotta go.
Peace Out Idol watchers!
What becomes of the broken hearted? Apparently, you go on Idol and have Ryan embarrass you in front of a couple million people.
OK, as someone who was fortunate enough to see Anita Baker perform that song live, I am insulted (on behalf of Anita) by Tim Urban's half-assed and half-hearted, would-make-Barry-Manilow-mad-attempt to sing "Sweet Love." Shame on him. Shame.
Didn't I say no songs by people involved in domestic abuse scandals. Andrew makes Chris Brown's "Forever" sound like a Doublemint gum commercial. Actually there are far better Doublemint gum commercials....
Oh lord, this little girl is gonna try to sing Aretha. I gotta go.
Peace Out Idol watchers!
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)
